American Diabetes Association Announces the 2018 Award Recipients for the Scientific Sessions


Top researchers, clinicians, and educators will be recognized at the 78th Scientific Sessions for their outstanding leadership and work to advance diabetes research, prevention, care, and treatment.

The American Diabetes Association (ADA), has announced this year's recipients of the ADA's National Scientific and Health Care Achievement Awards, in a press release. The recognitions were awarded for exemplary leadership, mentorship, and achievements that have advanced the field of diabetes care, and improved health outcomes for people with diabetes.

The ADA's 78th Scientific Sessions will be held June 22-26, 2018 at the Orange County Convention Center in Orlando, Florida. Several leaders will be recognized and will recieve awards for their contribution to diabetes research, prevention, care, and treatment. Some of the award winners will present award lectures.

William T. Cefalu

"All of the recipients of our National Scientific and Health Care Achievement awards have made incredible contributions in their respective fields to increase the vast library of knowledge that has contributed to the many scientific and technological advances that have improved the lives of millions of people living with diabetes," said, MD, Chief Scientific, Medical and Mission Officer of the ADA, in a press release. "It is an honor for the ADA to recognize these individuals for their extraordinary work."

According to the ADA, Jackie L. Boucher, MS, RDN, will be this year's recipient of the Outstanding Educator in Diabetes Award. Boucher currently serves as the President of Children's Heartlink in Minneapolis, MN, and will be honored for her work in the field of diabetes education. Her lecture,Outstanding Educator in Diabetes Award Lecture:Connectedness: How Technology and Social Networks are Advancing Diabetes Nutrition Care, will be presented on June 23.

Other recognitions include the following:

Gerald I. Shulman

Banting Medal for Scientific Achievement :, MD, PhD

Yale University School of Medicine

New Haven, Connecticut

Lora K. Heisler

Outstanding Scientific Achievement Award:, PhD

George R. Cowgill Professor of Medicine and Cellular and Molecular Physiology,and Co-Director of the Yale Diabetes Research Center,


Aberdeen, Scotland

Professor, Chair in Human Nutrition and Head of the Obesity and Food Choice Division of the Rowett Institute,University of,

Mark A. Atkinson

Albert RenoldAward:, PhD

University of Florida

Gainesville, Florida

Jeffrey Keene Family Professor, American Diabetes Association Eminent Scholar for Diabetes Research and Director of the Diabetes Institute,,

Rury R. Holman

Outstanding Achievement in Clinical Diabetes Research Award:, FMedSci


University of Oxford

Oxford, United Kingdom

Professor of Diabetic Medicine,University of, Director of theDiabetes Trial Unit and NIHR Senior Investigator,

Andrew J. Ahmann

Outstanding Physician Clinician in Diabetes Award:, MD

Portland, Oregon

Professor of Medicine, Oregon Health & Science University and Director of the Harold Schnitzer Diabetes Health Center,

Viswanathan Mohan

Harold RifkinAward for Distinguished International Service in the Cause of Diabetes:, MD, PhD

Chennai, India

Chairman and Chief of Diabetology, Dr. Mohan's Diabetes Specialties Centre and Director of the Madras Diabetes Research Foundation,

Kelly WestAward for Outstanding Achievement in Epidemiology:Catherine C. Cowie, PhD

Bethesda, Maryland

Senior Advisor, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) Diabetes Epidemiology Program,

The ADA's Scientific Sessions, is the world's largest scientific meeting focused on diabetes research, prevention and care, according to the organization. During the 5-day meeting, more than 16,000 health care professionals from around the world will have exclusive access to more than 3,000 original diabetes research presentations, participate in provocative and engaging exchanges with leading diabetes experts, and can earn Continuing Medical Education or Continuing Education credits for educational sessions.

Felicia Hill-Briggs

une 23. In addition,

Jane E.B. Reusch

June 24

, PhD, ABPP, President of Health Care and Education, is expected to deliver an address about the ADA in the era of healthcare transformation on J, MD, President of Medicine and Science, will present her address about living with diabetes on. In total, the 2018 Scientific Sessions will include 375 oral presentations; 2,117 poster presentations, including 47 moderated poster discussions; and 297 published-only abstracts. On social media, the Scientific Sessions can be followed using #2018ADA.


American Diabetes Association. American Diabetes Association Announces Eight Recipients of 2018 National Scientific and Health Care Achievement Awards [news release]. Arlington, VA: April 26, 2018; ADA website. Accessed June 12, 2018.

Related Videos
Related Content
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.